top of page
Search

Audition Season 2023

Updated: Jan 26, 2023

January 25th 2023


There is something so peaceful about the clam before the storm.


Growing up, I would always look forward to the two weeks that I would get off for Christmas break. I would get two weeks off for school and then two weeks off for dance. Now, I couldn't say whether that was more for the teachers or the students, but I looked forward to it all the same.


So much of my life was taken up by the rigorous schedule of being in a pre-professional ballet company and school. On the weekdays, I would go to school from 8 AM- 3:05 PM, run home to change, and then be to the studio by 5 PM. I would then train from 5-9 PM most nights and get home just in time to do my homework, sew new pointe shoes, and then go to bed. On Saturday's, It was usually 10 AM ballet class into hours of rehearsals in preparation for our annual full-length spring ballet that always took place in March of the new year. The occasional Sunday was also required for rehearsals as time drew closer to tech week. When I say a full-length ballet, I mean a full-length ballet. A typical full-length ballet will run anywhere from a hour and a half to three hours. You can ask anyone in my family, but I am pretty sure there were a few that almost hit the three hour mark. We would have five performances in total with two of them being on that Saturday. It was nothing short of a marathon to say the least, but I adored every second of it.


That being said, Christmas break was always much needed because I knew it was going to be crunch time when we went back in January. Every winter also always doubled as audition season for summer intensives. I was privileged to grow up in a studio where it was encouraged to go away to train in the summer. Having different teachers and a different perspective on your training is crucially important especially when you are still growing and learning. My beautiful mother was a gem when it came to audition season. She would take time off of work to drive me to Grand Rapids, Chicago, Pittsburgh, Detroit, and anywhere else where one was held at. If we planned it out correctly, we could hit multiple in one trip. Some of my favorite memories were made on those weekends. I was honored to be able to attend Blue Lake Fine Arts Camp way back in 2013 along with Charlotte Ballet's 5 week intensive in 2015. I did my best to space them out because at the time, I was also spending some of my summers doing community theatre which I adored growing up. It really helped shape me as a dancer and served as supplementary training when it came to acting. I went onto train with Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Complexions Contemporary Ballet, and North West Dance Project during my time in college. All fantastic programs! If you have questions concerning any of the programs that I have listed, please feel free to reach out!



Audition season was also a time when I had to self reflect on my strengths and weaknesses as a classically trained ballet dancer. It was just as much nerve wracking as exciting, but if you went into those auditions with the correct mindset, it proved to be a wonderful learning experience!


We are well into the 2023 audition season, and I just wanted to share a few helpful tips that I have learned over the years to help conquer those insecurities and nerves! I am also drilling these three simple (but important) audition tips with my own students every week!


1.) Be A Smart Dancer


Now, I know this sounds slightly degrading. However, you would be surprised to find out how many dancers make stupid choices during their audition in order to hopefully impress the directors. It is as simple as making sure you know the combination before you go. Be spatially aware of the other dancers around you. Always finish the combination (even when you mess up because you know they are watching). Make sure you are in the proper attire that they asked for. Be on the music. Don't ask a question unless you absolutely need to, and always thank whoever taught the class along with the directors. Remember that less is more and you want to walk away from that room leaving them wanting more.


2.) Be Proactive


As you start making your list for the intensives that you want to audition for, be present in your research process. If you are looking for training in a specific style, look on their website to see if they offer classes in that style. Know what the directors are looking for and make sure that you are prepared to meet their expectations. If they have a pre-registration, do the pre-registration because most likely, they will run out of room. Make sure you have exactly what they ask for (headshot, first arabesque picture, resume, letter of recommendation, registration fee...ect). Helpful Hint: your teachers will appreciate you if they have a few weeks to write your recommendation letter! Directors appreciate when you come prepared! On the day of the audition, allow yourself plenty of time to get there and warm up. Nothing is worse than walking into an audition cold!


3.) Be Yourself


Remember that you are going to be in a room with about 50-80 other dancers. What is going to set you apart from the person next to you? Stage presence and clean technique are two elements that will take you far in terms of an audition! You want to look the part, act the part, and ultimately...be what they are looking for. They are not looking for perfection, they are looking for potential. The directors are trying to see if you would be a good fit for their program. It is their job to help you reach your fullest potential, and as hard as it is, it might not be with that specific company. If you make a mistake, it's okay! They want to see how you recover. Classical ballet is one of the most competitive art forms that there is. Remember that there are only so many spots available in every summer intensive program. Be personable, be respectful, be polite, and be humble. Being humble and gracious will take you farther than you think. Confidence is key.

Dwight Rhoden once said "There is no such thing as a perfect dancer, but the way you recover will put the perfect in you."

Those are just a few helpful things that I have learned throughout my years attending summer intensive, training program, and professional company auditions. It is 95% about your mindset, and once you understand that, the entire process becomes that much less stressful.


Now onto my life update!


My winter term at CARE Conservatory of Ballet is in full swing! Their pre-professional company is just weeks away from performing their original ballet Carnival of the Animals which will be at the East Grand Rapids Performing Arts Center on February 4th and 5th! I have had the honor of coaching and helping with rehearsals over the past few weeks and I could not be more excited to see them perform!


It is also audition season which means lots of video taping, good ballet classes, recommendations letters, and video editing! I am enjoying the classes that I am teaching and it is so nice to have the artistic freedom that they are giving me! We are also gearing up for student cabaret which will be taking place in May! Student cabaret is a student choreographic showcase to give the students an opportunity to learn the art of choreography as well as a chance to choreograph on their peers! It is such a wonderful time of growth for the students, and I am throughly excited to get started on it! I am also working on some new choreography myself that will be debuted later this year! The new year always seems busy, but I am so thankful for the opportunities that CARE Ballet continues to provide me with. It makes the world of a difference when you find your people, and I am so happy that I found mine!


During my break, I was finally able to finish all of the behind the scenes work for my first full-length original ballet! This has been something that I have always wanted the opportunity to do ever since I was 18. I have never had the time until this year, and I could not be more proud. The idea hit me last March and it has taken me that long to come up with the composer's, a cohesive track list, set design, prop design, cast list, write the storyline, cut music, and ultimately..create an original ballet. I am beyond excited to see what new opportunities arise and doors open throughout the 2023-2024 season. I could not be more thankful for the unconditional love and support that I have received from my family, my friends, my students, and my colleagues. I could not have done this without you. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.



"There is one quality which one must possess to win, and that is definiteness of purpose, the knowledge of what one wants, and a burning desire to possess it." - Napoleon Hill
37 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page