top of page
Search

Grand Rapids Bound

Updated: Jun 23, 2022

June 22nd 2022


Well, Grand Rapids here I come.


These past few months have been a wild ride, but I am so excited to share that I will be moving to Grand Rapids, Michigan in the beginning of August! I was offered a position with Grand Rapids Civic Theatre and School of Theatre Arts as a Teaching Artist Apprentice for the 2022-2023 season! I will also be teaching at CARE Conservatory of Ballet for their annual CARE Camp this August and periodically throughout this next season! I am incredibly thankful for this amazing opportunity that will transition me into the next chapter in my professional career as a choreographer and teacher!


Thanks to COVID-19, I have had my professional career on hold for the past few years due to the pandemic. My plans were put at a complete standstill and I had to move on with where I was in life (as did everyone else). However, that didn't make anything less painful. I didn't get to finish my college degree (even only having one year left) and I had to give up two amazing professional training opportunities at Hubbard Street Dance Chicago and North West Dance Project. Having to give up the one thing in my life that made sense hurt worse than I care to admit. If you were to ask anyone in the performing arts industry how they were holding up due to COVID in 2020, I can assure you that they were in mourning. They were in mourning because they couldn't do anything. Most regular college students were able to graduate, start their new jobs, adjust to working remotely, and move on with their lives. However, being a dancer makes that all the more difficult. Our job is taking ballet class every morning at 9AM. Our job is working in the studio with world renowned choreographers, teachers, and directors. Our job is performing on a stage to bring joy to the people who come and watch us dance.


I remember someone asking me "Why do you do it? Why do you dance?"


In my head, I remember thinking "Well...why wouldn't I"


I obviously did not say that to the sweet lady who asked me the thought provoking question, but I had to reassure myself that this is what I was meant to do. You don't meet many 16-year olds who know what they want to do in life. It is rare that most adults with a college degree and a good job know what they want to do. Being able to do what I love is such a gift. It is a gift that I took for granted before the pandemic hit, and I remember thinking that I will never take it for granted again.


This past year has not been a walk in the park. I was severely burnt out. It wasn't because I was overworked or tired, it was because I was restless. I have so much to say through my choreography and when opportunities are taken away, it becomes mentally, physically, and emotionally exhausting. I had never questioned my judgement as much as I have this past year. There were many circumstances that were happening in my personal life that added to the uncertainty, but I know something needed to change. I wanted more. As a 23-year old teacher and choreographer who is still wanting more opportunities, it just wasn't enough to stay where I was. I still have a lot to say with my work and the doors are just beginning to open.


Natalia Alexandra Choreography LLC "Where Creativity Knows No Bounds" was launched March 7th of 2022. That sentence alone is what kept me going. I am the proud founder and owner of my very own freelance business that has my name on it at age 23. Like most new businesses, it takes time, dedication, and passion to help it grow. I learned a lot about graphic design, marketing, website development, video editing, and the power of social media. NAC consists of a Facebook Page, Instagram Account, Youtube Channel, and my original blog "The Butterfly Effect".The official Natalia Alexandra Choreography website will be dropping in the near future, so be on the watch for that! I am very thankful for this opportunity to reach more people with my work.


I was approached by Voyage Michigan Magazine to do an interview with them in May. They were interested in my story and wanted to know about my journey and the circumstances that led to where I am today. It was such a cool experience to really think about my story and the legacy that I am creating for myself as a teacher, blogger, coach, human, dancer, artist, and choreographer. The article is set to drop within the coming weeks and I am so excited to see how it turns out. My hope is that it inspires other artists to keep pursuing what they are passionate about even when you are amidst rough waters. Remember, It is always darkest before the dawn.

I started looking for jobs around January of 2022. I figured new year, new me, so why not. I hadn't even heard of Grand Rapids Civic Theatre And School of Theatre Arts until a good friend and colleague of mine, Heather Liskiewitz (Artistic Director of CARE Conservatory of Ballet), suggested that I apply. Grand Rapids Civic Theatre was was established back in 1925 and serves as one of the oldest and largest community theatre's in the nation (I believe it is 5th in the nation). Their mission "To entertain, educate, and engage our community through the theatre arts" is the driving force behind their beautiful organization. They produce nine main stage productions each year and they have grown to become one of the largest and most respected community theatre education programs in the country. When Jenna offered me the job, I was speechless. For the first time in my life, I was offered a position where I get to keep learning and growing on a big scale while still getting paid what I deserve. It was a dream, an answer to prayer, and I am incredibly thankful. I will be able to gain experience in assisting/teaching classes such as: Jazz Technique, Musical Theatre, Tap, Dance Audition Skills, and Heels Class along with being able to assist with choreography rehearsals for main stage productions! As someone who grew up in both the theatre and dance world, I have never been more excited.

Part of why I love teaching and choreographing is because of the relationships I get to form with my students. I remember being a young aspiring student and the relationships with my mentors are what got me where I am today. Trust is such an important element in any teacher student relationship. It goes both ways. My students look at me to help guide, teach, coach, and eventually watch them fly. Challenging them is what helps them grow. I have learned that you won't see results if you don't push them. I have a talent of finding potential in my students and pulling it out of them at the right time. It is one of my favorite parts of being a teacher. It is so rewarding to see how much of an impact I have made in their lives as a dancer, but most importantly as a human. I learn just as much from my students as they learn from me.


So, here we are. A new page. A new chapter. Maybe even a new book.


Whatever the case, I am beyond thankful to my family and friends who have continued to support me, stand by me, push me, and love me for who I am. I am a completely different person than who I was just a year ago. I see the growth in myself. Life is not always pretty. You learn very quickly who your friends are and who is acting like your friend because it benefits them. You start noticing things you never noticed before. I learned how to say no when I wasn't being treated fairly. I learned how to set boundaries. I learned how to advocate for myself as a female choreographer. I know my worth as a human and as an artist. Most importantly, I learned that I don't owe anyone any favors because I put in the work to be where I am today. I am thankful for the experiences that this past year has brought me because without them, I wouldn't be where I am today.


Photography: Photography by RSR (Becky Ruppert)


"Sometimes you just gotta throw them in the deep end and help them keep their head above water. They will figure out how to swim when they are ready. They just need a push." - Natalia Alexandra Retzloff




76 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page