top of page
Search

National Ballet Day

February 7th 2023


Resilience.


That one word elicits many different emotions from people. For some, it makes them feel empowered, validated, successful, and accomplished. For others, it makes them cower in fear. Fear of the unknown. Fear of being showed up. Fear of failure.


The definition of resilience is: the capacity to withstand or to recover quickly from difficulties; toughness.


Growing up in the world of classical ballet was no walk in the park. To really pursue classical ballet, it requires a rigorous training schedule, a healthy diet, some form of cross training (going to the gym, pilates, yoga, or endurance training), private lessons, summer intensives, endless hours of time, and a burning desire to want to dance. However, the hardest part of pursing classical ballet is the tole that it takes on your mental health.


When you take a ballet class, it is expected that you wear a leotard, tights, and have your hair pulled back in a bun or french twist. Every single part of your body is visible and exposed. You can see every last imperfection that you wish you could hide. You stand in front of a mirror and take class while you try your hardest to look exactly like the girl next to you because you know that she is vying for the part you want on the cast list. It turns into a mental game that you play with yourself and your other peers.


Have you ever heard the phrase"Only the strongest will survive"

There is some truth to that statement when it comes to ballet. You need to have just as much mental strength as you do physical. It wouldn't hurt to have even more if I am being completely honest. Having to stand in a room full of girls, staring at yourself in the mirror while trying to reach a level of perfection that is almost unattainable takes a tole on you mentally. Many dancers can't take it and end up burning out, quitting, or even developing a mental illness. It takes many years to have the capacity to deal with the harsh mental reality of being a ballet dancer.


The reality of the situation is that being trained in the art of classical ballet is one of the hardest and most competitive professions that you could choose. It requires discipline, passion, talent, perseverance, and dedication. However, the most important character quality that you need to possess is resilience.


Being trained in ballet from the age of two taught me how to be resilient. It was some of the hardest, yet most rewarding years of my life, and now I am in a position where I am able to pass down my knowledge of dance onto my students. There is nothing more empowering than being able to invest into someones life the way that my teachers invested into mine. I didn't understand the role that they played in my life until I started to teach and choreograph. I understood the passion that they had and the years of knowledge that they possessed. Looking back on it, I can say that I will forever be grateful to all of my instructors for the important life lessons that they taught me, and I hope that they can be proud knowing that I am continuing to pass their knowledge onto the next generation of dancers.


There is something sacred about the art of classical ballet. The history of ballet dates all the way back to the Renaissance period around 1500. Knowing that this graceful art form has captivated audiences since the 1500s holds some significance. The ballet techniques that are taught today hold just as much history as our history books did in high school. It was all very meticulously designed to help nurture, challenge, shape, and inspire young aspiring dancers. I am fortunate enough to say that I have been trained in many of the popular techniques that are taught today. I could not be more thankful for my background in classical ballet. It made the world of a difference in the transition into my college and professional career.


I was sixteen when I fell in love with choreography. I won a local competition that was held by my studio. My piece was selected to be performed at our school showcase and that was the first time I was asked to speak publicly about my work. It was in that moment when I discovered that this is what I was meant to do for the rest of my life. To me, it is the most original and creative part of the dance world. Ballet has contributed significantly to my ability to choreograph. It makes me extremely versatile as a female choreographer and opens another realm of opportunities to explore.


This past year, my creativity was stifled in more ways than one. I felt extremely lost, discouraged, and burnt out. For an artist, those three words hold a lot of meaning. Ultimately, I was at a turning point in my career, and I needed to figure out where I wanted my career to go from there. I had so many ideas that I wanted to pursue, and I knew that I needed a change. I wanted to be challenged. I wanted to grow. I wanted more. Opportunities were taken away and I was desperately trying to understand the reasoning behind it. Constantly being told "no" deeply affected me as an artist and as a human. On top of that, I had a lot going on in my personal life as well. It was not a healthy situation for me to be in, and I had to do what was best for me during that time. Life teaches you a lesson through every situation. Sometimes the outcomes are good, and sometimes they are not. How you continue to live your life after the fact is up to you.


Now, here we are, almost a year later, and I could not be more grateful. Amazing opportunities continue to present themselves and I am finally able to put myself first and focus on my career. Standing up for yourself is never easy to do, but once you understand the respect that you deserve, it becomes easier. I have learned now to advocate, negotiate, and speak up for myself and what I am passionate about in life despite the curveballs that were thrown. It is an empowering feeling when you know your worth, and I am so happy that I know mine.


Life has been crazy busy and I am still in the process of finalizing the details of my summer season. Spring is always a busy time for the arts, but I am excited and thankful to see what the future has in store. I had the pleasure of seeing my beautiful students perform in Carnival Of The Animals on Saturday and I could not have been more proud of them. They were absolutely fantastic! Seeing your students cultivate the same passion and love for dance that I have is inspiring. To me, that is the most rewarding part of being a teacher. It is the main reason why I love what I do. I teach to invest into the lives of my students. I teach to help them grow, explore, and flourish.


Always remember, you don't need to accomplish everything all at once. Life would get pretty boring if we were all just comfortable. I am constantly reminding myself that on a daily basis. It is so important to take a breath every once in a while and feel proud of where you are in that season of life. I know I am.


Stay tuned for some exciting announcements regarding my summer season! I could not be more thankful for the connections that have recently been made. It is amazing how small the dance world really is. My heart is so full and I am so thankful.


So, be thankful for where you are in your season of life. Be open to the lessons that life teaches you, listen to your heart, and pursue what you are passionate about in life.


Be resilient.


To all the ballet kids out there, this one's for you.






Happy National Ballet Day!


"They are scared of women like you. Women with hearts big enough to house suitcases full of pain, women with laughs so therapeutic they can heal wounds. Women fierce enough to start wildfires. They are scared of what they can't tame or understand." - Anonymous
37 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page