top of page
Search

YAGP 2022

Updated: Oct 12, 2022

March 15th 2022


Exhaustion - The action or state of using something up or of being used up completely. A state of extreme physical or mental fatigue.


Youth America Grand Prix was founded by the Larissa Saveliev, who was originally born in Moscow, Russia and trained at the Bolshoi Academy. She had a professional performance career with Stanislavsky Ballet and the Bolshoi Ballet before she came to the US in 1994. Together with her husband, (Gennadi Saveliev), they founded Youth America Grand Prix in 1999. I consider the whole thing slightly ironic considering I was born in Rybinsk, Russia (which is about four hours north of Moscow), and I was born in the year of 1999. When my mother and grandmother traveled to Russia to adopt me, they had tickets to see the Bolshoi Ballet in person. Due to travel issues, they were unable to attend the ballet in person. I won't ever let them live that down.


I didn't fall in love with contemporary dance until I got to college. I was a certified "bunhead" all throughout grade school.


My mother moved me to Paavola School of Dance at age 5, I joined Young People's Ballet Theatre at age 8, got my pointe shoes at age 10, was performing on pointe by age 12, and was taking on lead roles by age 13. I am extremely thankful for the technique and artistry that I was taught at a very young age.


Classical ballet teaches discipline. To be on time is to be 15 minutes early, you show up to class early to warm up, you have your warm ups off by Ronds De Jembe, your hair is to be up in a french twist or bun, you only speak when spoken to, and you are expected to work hard in every class. Not only should it be expected, but you should want to work hard. The strictness of it is sacred. Without the rules and principles, it simply would not work. A lot of those rules and principles are not being taught today, and I am deeply saddened by that. However, classical ballet will always be my first love. I understand the importance of having good technique and artistry. I wouldn't be where I am today without it.



We had the opportunity to take the apprentice company of Fenton Ballet Theatre to YAGP in Indianapolis this past weekend. The girls competed both their classical variations AND the contemporary solos that I choreographed for them in August of 2021! They all performed extremely well, and I could not be more proud of how far they have come. For three of them, it was their first contemporary solo, so I am honored that I was able to create something unique for each of them.


Growing up, I never had the opportunity to go to YAGP. So being able to go as a teacher, choreographer, and coach is SO special. It is an amazing training tool and performance opportunity for students who are serious about dance. I learn so much from just observing in the audience while the dancers perform. So much talent. I always walk away from the weekend feeling exhausted but inspired in more ways than one. There is something about seeing your name in a program under choreographer. Knowing that I invested into the lives of these girls brings me more fulfillment than I ever thought possible. I am so incredibly proud of them.

Building relationships with your students is such a powerful force. As a teacher, choreographer, and coach you need to establish an element of trust. They rely on your judgment as a coach, your creativity as a choreographer, and your experience as a teacher. They listen intently to the stories you tell them in class, and they hang on to every piece of advice you give them. Your compliments make them smile and your corrections make them push harder. If I didn't know my students, it would be extremely difficult to choreograph for them. It is a beautiful relationship once that element of trust is established. I have amazing mentors, and I am beyond thankful for everything they have invested in me.


As a choreographer, some of my favorite original works were premiered by a group of students that I have very close relationships with. The organic chemistry is so strong, and they understand your artistic vision better than anyone else ever will. So, when you are scared to open up or be vulnerable with your students, don't be. Don't be scared to invest into your students' lives. You impact the people around you more than you realize.



The Woman In The Arena "It is not the critic who counts; not the woman who points out how the strong woman stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the woman who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends herself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if she fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that her place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory or defeat." - Theodore Roosevelt


70 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page